The Savoy Declaration
of Faith and Order

CRTA's Introduction - The Savoy Declaration is a modification of the Westminster Confession to suit the Congregational polity. We have included notes that point out the differences in the two documents.


i.  Preface
ii. The Institution of Churches, and the Order Appointed in them by Jesus Christ  
Of the Holy Scripture
Of God and of the Holy Trinity
Of God's Eternal Decree
Of Creation
Of Providence
Of the Fall of Man, of Sin, and of the Punishment thereof
Of God's Covenant with Man
Of Christ the Mediator
Of Free-Will
10 Of Effectual Calling
11 Of Justification
12 Of Adoption
13 Of Sanctification
14 Of Saving Faith
15 Of Repentance unto Life and Salvation
16 Of Good Works
17 Of the Perseverance of the Saints
18 Of the Assurance of Grace and Salvation
19 Of the Law of God
[Through chapter 19 the Savoy follows the numbering of the Westminster Confession of Faith]
20 Of the Gospel, and of the Extent of the Grace thereof
[Chapter 20 is added to the Westminster Confession (which accounts for the change of numbers of chapters after Chap. 20]
21 Of Christian Liberty and Liberty of Conscience
     [See Comparison to The Westmister Confession]
22 Of Religious Worship and the Sabbath-Day
23 Of Lawful Oaths and Vows
24 Of the Civil Magistrate
    [See Comparison to The Westmister Confession]
25 Of Marriage
26 Of the Church
    [See Comparison to The Westmister Confession]
27 Of the Communion of Saints
28 Of the Sacraments
29 Of Baptism Of the Lord's Supper
31 Of the State of Man after Death, and of the Resurrection of the Dead
32 Of the Last Judgment 

Return to the Documents page at CRTA....
Return to CRTA